top of page

DIY: Minimal Room Divider: Step by Step Instructions and Ideas

Updated: Sep 1, 2021


I was desperate to create a personal space where I could teach and work in my living room. Since having to teach via Zoom, I've been extra mindful of what my students see and to make sure they are not distracted. It's not so much my actual house I'm worried about students seeing, it's more of my daughter running back and forth behind me since I'm in between the living room and kitchen.


So, to keep the background movement to a minimal, I wanted a simple divider I can use when I needed it and then fold up afterwards.


I looked everywhere! I called all the local home good stores in the area and even tried online. I couldn't find anything that fit my taste, was in my price range or looked sturdy. The result? I made my own for less than it would cost to buy.


Materials List:

4 - 12"x6' wooden shelf panels

9 - Hinges with screws*

Measuring tape/ruler

Pencil

Stain or paint (optional)

Hooks, shelves, baskets, writing boards, magnetic boards (optional)


*If you want to make a divider with only three panels, you would only need 6 hinges . If you want a larger divider, add 3 hinges for every additional panel.


Time:

About an hour


Price:

Around $120.00-$130.00


Here's what I did!

I picked out the prettiest and most unique pieces of wood I could find at the hardware store. I had to make sure they were even and not bowed in any areas. These panels had some wonderful natural designs. You can use stain to bring out the details, but I left it plain.



I then placed the panels on the floor and made sure the bottoms lined up.



Since these were 6 foot boards, I made a pencil mark at 1ft, 3ft and 5ft on the measuring tape.



I used a drill bit to make pilot holes for the screws. Trust me, it makes a huge difference when you are ready to put the screws in.


Important: Figure out the way you want your divider to stand, and place the hinges accordingly. You might want to test out the way the panels bend before you screw them in. It's important to make sure that it will stand up.


I altered the middle two panels and placed the hinges on the back. This allowed the two side panels to fold in. The entire divider folds together to the size of one panel for easy storing.


The Finished Project


Optional accessories and ideas!


I installed these hooks to the back of the divider so I can hang my sweaters.


I bought some $5.00 magnetic dry erase boards to mount to the divider. The great thing about this project, is that you can tailor it to your specific needs. It's a functional multi-use piece of furniture that you can continuously alter and make unique to fit your space.


Good luck with your project! Please share your experience and photos if you tackle this one. I'd love to see it!


Did you like this DIY? Check out how I turned an extra closet into a kid's reading nook: From Mess to Yes! Converting an Extra Closet into a Cute Reading Nook (wixsite.com)

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page